Putting our residents first
Top menu
Search our website: Search

Freedom of the borough

Before the year 1835 Freemen existed in many boroughs as a constituent part of the Corporation. Freemen enjoyed special rights, dependent on local customs, such as rights of pasturage on corporate land and exemptions from certain tolls and dues.

Since the Municipal Corporations Act of 1835 Borough Councils have continued to be given the power to appoint Freemen but the law has gradually reduced the privileges associated with that office.

The Local Government Act, 1972, introduced the major change in powers and structures of local authorities. Borough Councils can admit to be Honorary Freemen of the Borough persons of distinction, and persons who have rendered eminent services to the borough. This is usually carried out at a specially convened meeting of the whole council, with all due ceremony, and an illuminated scroll is usually presented to the recipient.

In the situation where a regiment or RAF station is admitted as a Freeman, tradition also allows the military unit to parade in the town with fixed bayonets, regimental band playing, and colours flying.

"The Freedom" is the highest tribute that a borough can bestow, and although in modern times it is an honour only and confers no legal rights, Honorary Freemen are invariably invited to take part in all important ceremonial occasions in the borough.

Since the London Borough of Hillingdon was created in 1964, the following individuals have been awarded Freedom of the Borough:

1979 - William Darrell Charles JP
1981 - George Hooper Esq
1987 - Oswald Garvin MBE JP
1987 - Ernest Lloyd Ing JP
1990 - Simon Gelberg Esq
2006 - Edwin Hales Esq
2006 - Alfred Langley Esq
2006 - Albert Tyrrell MBE JP
2007 - Kenneth Guy Esq
2007 - Michael Craxton Esq
2007 - Hubert Key Esq
2007 - David Brough Esq
2012 - Natasha Baker MBE

2014 - Josephine Barrett JP
2014 - Paul Harmsworth
2014 - Shirley Harper-O'Neill
2014 - John Major
2014 - Wing Commander (Ret'd) Edna Partridge CVO OBE AE DL 
2014 - David Payne
2014 - Jill Rhodes JP
2014 - David Routledge MBE
2018 - George Cooper
2018 - Catherine Dann
2018 - Mohammed Khursheed

Since the London Borough of Hillingdon was created in 1964, the following Regiments have been awarded Freedom of Entry:

1960 - Royal Air Force Uxbridge
2000 - Royal Air Force Northolt
2007 - 47 (Middlesex Yeomanry) Signal Squadron

Is there anything wrong with this page?

* What would you like to report?
Broken link
Out of date information
Missing information
Report a problem with a service

* Please provide further details:

Please include your email in case we need further details (optional):

This feedback tool is for improving our pages. To report a problem with a service, please email: contact@hillingdon.gov.uk

Your feedback could not be sent - please ensure you have completed all fields.

Thank you for your feedback.

Article utilities:  Bookmark and Share Print Print this page Last updated: 10 May 2018 at 14:02